Riding The Daikanransha (大観覧車) Ferris Wheel in Tokyo

One thing I always to do on a trip to Japan was ride a ferris wheel. Ferris wheels were something I loved as a kid. Growing up in San Francisco, there were frequently local fairs that would open at the malls nearby and whenever one did I was quick to bug my mother to take me so that I could ride the Dragon Wagon and the ferris wheels. The only time I tend to see ferris wheels nowadays is during the Florida State Fair, which occurs once a year for a short time. Daikanransha (大観覧車) Ferris Wheel was a must-stop for me. Tickets were 900 yen per person.

I had ventured into Odaiba earlier in the day and after spending hours at Sega Joyopolis and the nearby area it became clear I would be strapped for cash and could only visit one more place in Obaiba. I decided to take a trip to Palette Town and take the 16-minute ride on the Daikanransha Ferris Wheel. Daikanransha was the world’s tallest ferris wheel when it opened back in 1999, but lost the title a short while thereafter. It is also Asia’s 10th tallest and the world’s 12th tallest wheel ever constructed.

The ferris wheel ride was amazing, but since I traveled alone this day it was a little lonely on the 16-minute ride. On the way to the top they played Christmas songs (as you can hear in the YouTube video) and I started to miss home due to the the overwhelming memories of Christmas with my family. Luckily, it wasn’t Christmas just yet and I would be home in a few weeks to celebrate.

The view from the highest point of the ferris wheel is fantastic and just something I think everyone should see. When we started to pass a skyscraper close by I became a little apprehensive and had one of those moments where I want to get off. I also started to think about what kind of scary scenarios would play out if some kind of a natural disaster occurred while I was in the ferris wheel, definitely thoughts that wouldn’t occur if i had a phone someone else on the ride with me. Regardless, it was an amazing experience that I will always remember.

On my way home after the ride I went through a Toyota display where they show off their latest car models. You can go on a tour here earlier in the day, but since it was a Sunday night – I was just passing through.

I had a run-in with Japanese politeness and culture on the subway heading back to my hostile. I was staring out the window looking at the lights in Tokyo and as the train came to a stop – I looked around the subway and made accidental eye-contact with a Japanese businessman. The man bowed and said “sumimasen oyasuminasai”, which means “excuse me good night” – I bowed and was honestly blown away by how polite he was to me. Never in all the times I rode the subway in Seoul did anyone do such a polite thing. I was moved by this and several other moments during my visit to Tokyo that really made me appreciate Japanese people and their culture.

Leave a comment